Valid and active car insurance in Georgia is required by law for you to drive a vehicle. When you’re caught without proof of insurance, you could strongly be penalized, by states where you were arrested.
Some consequences for driving without insurance may include license suspension, expensive tickets, lack of financial protection when an accident occurs, and denial of insurance cover if you are involved in an accident even if you are not at fault.
What Happens When You Are Pulled Over Without Auto Insurance In Georgia
Is It Illegal To Drive Without Auto Insurance In Georgia?
Yes. It is illegal to drive without auto insurance in Georgia and most states in America. However, some states allow you to self-insure your car. For your vehicle to be self-insured, you will need a cash deposit or post a surety bond to your state’s treasury. This amount is equal to an individual state liability limit.
When you are unable to provide a state-posted bond or proof of insurance, you are disobeying state laws.
With the exemption of New Hampshire and some remote parts of Alaska. However, these states can arrest a driver who has no car insurance and has caused a car crash or has been convicted of serious traffic offenses like hit and run or DUI, as these situations are mostly caused by drivers and they are solely responsible for damages.
What Is the Minimum Car Insurance In Georgia?
The minimum car insurance in Georgia is $25,000 for property damages liability for a single accident, $50,000 minimum for bodily liability injuries for everyone injured in a single accident, and a minimum of $25,000 for bodily liability injury for a single person in one accident.
What Happens After a Car Crash Without Insurance?
Here are a few scenarios of what would happen in a car crash without minimum car insurance in Georgia:
- Being in a car crash with an uninsured vehicle is a dangerous situation that could easily result in you being branded as a high-risk driver in the sight of the government or an insurance company, especially when you are at fault for the accident even if that is your first offense.
- If you are involved in an accident where both drivers are at fault for the crash and your car does not have minimum car insurance in Georgia, you are most likely to be sued by the other driver’s insurance company for property damage and bodily injury or single damage.
- Finally, the legal penalties for a car crash involving an uninsured car will dramatically rise in some states on charges of causing bodily injury to others
What Are the Fines and Penalties for Driving Without Insurance?
Every state in America will issue a ticket to you for driving without car insurance. But the cost or monetary fines are usually different. It is always between $25 and $5000.
Here are cost penalties when driving without car insurance in some states
- Georgia – $25 – $185
- Alaska – $500 – $1000
- Arizona – $500 – $1000
- California – $100 – $2000
Suspension Of License for Driving Without Auto Insurance in Georgia
License suspension may defer per state laws on driving without insurance. We have a few lists of states that will most definitely suspend your driving license with some hefty fines included.
Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
These 44 states require car insurance and your driver’s license will be suspended if you are caught.